1989–1991: Penny Ford in Snap! Discography

In late 1989 Penny came to Germany to record female vocals for a new electronic dance group Snap! which was being created by producers Michael Münzing & Luca Anzilotti. She worked alongside rapper Turbo B in recording of their first album, later on releasing their first mega hit “The Power” in 1990, which went viral and sold over 1 million copies in the US.

In May 1990 Snap’s debut album called “World Power” was released. Some of its highlights were:

number 4 – Ö3 Top 40 (Austrtia)
number 4 – Swiss Music Chart
number 7 – Media Control Charts (Germany)
number 10 – UK Albumbs Chart
number 20 – Topplistan Chart (Sweden)
number 25 – Aria Charts (Australia)
number 30 – Billboard 200 chart (US)

It also received a gold certificate from the NVPI with sales of more than 60,000 copies in Holland.

The album was also certified gold Austria, Australia, the UK, the US and Sweden.

It became Platinum in Switzerland and Germany.

Later on the band released their second single “Ooops”, which was at the very top of many international charts. It became gold and sold more than 500,000 copies in the US.

The band were flying high, releasing two more amazing singles “Mary Had a Little Boy” and “Cult of Snap”.

Around the same time Snap! had an international tour. Shortly after it their second album came out, two songs were written by Penny Ford “See the Light” and “Colour of Love”. Penny chose to leave the band in 1991, so those songs were recoded by her replacement Thea Austin.

In 2006, Penny returned to Snap and continues to perform worldwide as the original and official singer of the group. `